Home   /   research

Research Opportunities

The College of Medicine & Health Sciences is dedicated to continually engaging its faculty members and graduate and undergraduate students in research and scholarly activities that contribute to the knowledge base in teaching and learning within their field of specialization. Research funding is available to CMHS researchers through the:

  • CMHS Research Grants
  • UAEU Research Grants
  • Extramural FundingStudent Research

 

1. CMHS Research Grants

 

  • Are only available to CMHS researchers.
  • Deadline for submission is usually in October and December.
  • Applications are made electronically through the CMHS Intranet when the announcement by the Grants Committee is made.
  • Adherence to form layout, page number limit, and completion of all appropriate sections will ensure that the application is not rejected. Extra information is provided in the grant application form concerning how all grants are evaluated by the Committee. This information is aimed at helping all applicants in formulating their grant proposals as accurately and clearly as possible.
  • The Principal Investigator should indicate whether the Application for Ethical Approval (where applicable) of their grant has been submitted to the Al Ain Medical District Human Research Ethics Committee or the Animal Research Ethics Committee, and the date of this submission should be clearly indicated. Failure to do so may result in the application being returned to the Principal Investigator.
  • Progress/final reports of previously funded CMHS grants are due in the Research Office in December. Failure to do so will disqualify the applicant from receiving further funding from the RGC.
  • Should co-investigators on submitted research projects not be available to sign the application form, a letter of agreement should be attached to the project application.
  • For any query, please contact the Research Grant Committee Chair or the Research Office (Research Office, 3A 157, Third Floor, Administration)

2. UAEU Research Grants

  • Are only available to UAEU researchers.
  • Deadline for submission is usually in October and December.
  • Applications are made electronically through the ERMSS system when the announcement by the DVCRGS office is made.
  • Adherence to form layout, page number limit, and completion of all appropriate sections will ensure that the application is not rejected. Extra information is provided in the grant application form concerning how all grants are evaluated. This information is aimed at helping all applicants in formulating their grant proposals as accurately and clearly as possible.
  • The principal Investigator should indicate whether the Application for Ethical Approval (where applicable) of their grant has been submitted to the Al Ain Medical District Human Research Ethics Committee or the Animal Research Ethics Committee, and the date of this submission should be clearly indicated. Failure to do so may result in the application being returned to the Principal Investigator.
  • Progress/final reports of previously funded UAEU grants are due by the end of each year of funding and should also be submitted electronically through the ERMSS system.Failure to do so will disqualify the applicant from receiving further funding for the subsequent year of funding.
  • Should the co-investigators on submitted research projects not be available to sign the application form, a letter of agreement should be attached to the project application.

3. Extramural Grants

The Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Medical Sciences: It is the most prominent and prestigious award of its kind in the region. UAE can and should be really proud of being the motivating force behind the ongoing fast-paced medical research activities in the region.

Emirates Foundation: The Emirates Foundation is an independent philanthropic organization set up by the Government of the Emirate of Abu Dhabi to facilitate public-private funded initiatives to improve the welfare of people across the UAE. Over the years the Emirates Foundation has built a vibrant and diversified portfolio. They have helped over 28,000 young people to make positive contributions to their communities through our programs. They have worked hand in hand with the private sector and in collaboration with public sector peers to deliver social value through philanthropy.

National Research Foundation: On Friday, March 7th, 2008 His Excellency Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan, Minister of Higher Education & Scientific Research, United Arab Emirates (UAE), signed a decree creating the National Research Foundation (NRF). The NRF is a Ministry of Higher Education & Scientific Research initiative that helps promote research activity in private and public universities, colleges, centers, institutes and companies, by individuals or teams of researchers in UAE.

National Institute of Health: Today's ideas are the root of tomorrow's groundbreaking medical discoveries. The funding of an application depends on a rigorous system of peer review. Scientists, physicians, and other experienced individuals in biomedical fields from around the world evaluate the merit of proposed research and its potential to advance science.

Medical Research Council: The heart of our mission is to improve human health through world-class medical research. To achieve this, we support research across the biomedical spectrum, from fundamental lab-based science to clinical trials, and in all major disease areas. We work closely with the NHS and the UK Health Departments to deliver our mission, and give a high priority to research that is likely to make a real difference to clinical practice and the health of the population.

Terry Fox Foundation: Terry Fox was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and raised in Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, a community near Vancouver on Canada's west coast. An active teenager involved in many sports, Terry was only 18 years old when he was diagnosed with osteogenic sarcoma (bone cancer) and forced to have his right leg amputated 15 centimetres (six inches) above the knee in 1977. While in hospital, Terry was so overcome by the suffering of other cancer patients, many of them young children, that he decided to run across Canada to raise money for cancer research.

Welcome Trust: Are a global charity dedicated to achieving extraordinary improvements in human and animal health. They support the brightest minds in biomedical research and the medical humanities. The breadth of their support includes public engagement, education and the application of research to improve health.

4. Student Research

We believe that research is becoming an increasingly important part of career development for medical students. The College of Medicine & Health Sciences (CMHS) provides a wide variety of opportunities for students to participate in research. Early in the curriculum students are told about the research interests of faculty and the special interest research groups. Planning and design of research projects, research ethics, research project funding and biostatistics are also introduced.

Opportunities for extracurricular research include laboratory attachments, summer research projects and the UK Research Scholarship program and the Dr Ali Mosawi Scholarship. Students are encouraged to join research laboratories and to shadow research activities. It is hoped that some of these attachments will lead to presentations at scientific conferences and publications in peer reviewed journals.

The UK Research Scholarship program provides opportunities for selected students to visit UK research laboratories during the summer. Typically students will have been working in CMHS laboratories before visiting UK laboratories to learn new techniques and generally develop their research interests.

The Dr. Ali Mosawi Scholarship program also provides opportunities for undergraduate and post-graduate students to visit UK research laboratories and health organizations.

May 21, 2014

البداية   /   البحوث

الفرص البحثية


دأبت كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية باستمرار على انخراط أعضاء هيئة التدريس وطلاب الدراسات العليا والدراسات الجامعية في مجال البحوث والأنشطة العلمية التي تسهم في إرساء قاعدة المعرفة في التدريس والتعلم في مجال تخصصهم. علما ان تمويل البحوث متاحا للباحثين من خلال:

 

1. منح بحوث كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية
2. منح البحوث من جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة
3. تمويل من خارج الجامعة
4. بحوث الطلبة

منح بحوث كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية


•  تمنح لباحثي كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية حصراً
•  الموعد النهائي لتقديم الطلبات هو عادة في أكتوبر وديسمبر من كل عام.
•  يتم تقديم الطلبات إلكترونيا من خلال الشبكة الداخلية للكلية عندما يتم الإعلان من قبل لجنة المنح.
•  الالتزام بالشكل والترتيب وعدد الصفحات المحدد، وإكمال جميع الفصول اللازمة سيضمن عدم رفض التقديم.

وتُقدم استمارة طلب المنحة معلومات إضافية في فيما يتعلق بكيفية تقييم جميع المنح من قبل اللجنة. كما تهدف هذه المعلومات إلى مساعدة جميع المتقدمين في صياغة مقترحات المنح الخاصة بهم بدقة وبوضوح قدر الإمكان.
  ينبغي على الباحث الرئيسي توضيح ما إذا كان قد تقديم بطلب للحصول على الموافقة الخاصة بالمنحة ( عند الاقتضاء) إلى لجنة أخلاقيات البحوث البشرية الطبية منطقة العين أو لجنة أخلاقيات البحوث الحيوانية، كما ينبغي الإشارة إلى تاريخ هذا البيان بشكل واضح. وفي حالة عدم القيام بذلك سيتم إعادة الطلب إلى الباحث الرئيسي.

·   يجب تقديم تقارير حول سير العمل أو التقارير النهائية الممولة من منح كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية إلى دائرة البحوث في شهر ديسمبر. وفي حال عدم القيام بذلك سيحرم مقدم الطلب من  المزيد من التمويل من جنة منح البحوث.

·   وفي حال عدم تواجد الباحثين أو شركائهم في مشاريع البحوث المقدمة للتوقيع على استمارة الطلب، يجب إرسال رسالة موافقة مع طلب التقديم للمشروع.

للا ستفسار، يرجى الاتصال على رئيس لجنة منح البحوث أو الحضور شخصيا إلى مكتب البحوث (مكتب البحوث،  أي 3 ، 113 الطابق الثالث ، الإدارة)

  

منح الأبحاث لجامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

تتوفر لباحثي جامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة حصرا.
الموعد النهائي لتقديم الطلبات هو عادة في أكتوبر وديسمبر من كل عام.
تقدم الطلبات إلكترونيا من خلال نظام  إي آر أم أس أس عندما يتم الإعلان من قبل مكتب مساعد نائب رئيس الجامعة للبحوث والدراسات العليا

الالتزام بالنموذج، والحد من عدد الصفحات، إن استكمال جميع البيانات بالنموذج لن يؤدي إلي عدم رفض الطلب. وترد معلومات إضافية في استمارة طلب المنحة فيما يتعلق بكيفية تقييم جميع المنح. وتهدف هذه المعلومات إلى مساعدة جميع المتقدمين في صياغة مقترحات المنح الخاصة بهم بدقة وبوضوح ممكن.

  ينبغي على الباحث الرئيسي توضيح ما إذا كان قد تقديم بطلب للحصول على الموافقة الخاصة بالمنحة ( عند الاقتضاء) إلى لجنة أخلاقيات البحوث البشرية الطبية منطقة العين أو لجنة أخلاقيات البحوث الحيوانية، كما ينبغي الإشارة إلى تاريخ هذا البيان بشكل واضح. وفي حالة عدم القيام بذلك سيتم إعادة الطلب إلى الباحث الرئيسي.

·   يجب تقديم تقارير حول سير العمل أو التقارير النهائية الممولة من منح كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية إلى دائرة البحوث في شهر ديسمبر. وفي حال عدم القيام بذلك سيحرم مقدم الطلب من تلقى المزيد من التمويل من جنة منح البحوث.

·   وفي حال عدم تواجد الباحثين أو شركائهم في مشاريع البحوث المقدمة للتوقيع على استمارة الطلب، يجب إرسال رسالة موافقة مع طلب التقديم للمشروع.

 

المنح الخارجية

• جائزة الشيخ حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم للعلوم الطبية وهي أشهر جائزة من نوعها وذات تقدير عالي في المنطقة.  وللإمارات العربية المتحدة الفخر كونها القوة الدافعة وراء الأنشطة البحثية الطبية المستمرة وسريعة الخطى في المنطقة.

·  مؤسسة الإمارات: هي مؤسسة خيرية مستقلة تم تأسيسها من قبل حكومة إمارة أبوظبي لتسهيل مبادرات القطاعين العام والخاص الممولة لتحسين رفاهية  جميع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وعلى مر السنين أنجزت مؤسسة الإمارات محفظة حيوية ومتنوعة. وقد ساعدت أكثر من 28،000 شابا على تقديم مساهمات إيجابية لمجتمعاتهم من خلال برامجها. ولقد عملت يدا بيد مع القطاع الخاص وبالتعاون مع نظرائهم في القطاع العام لتقديم قيم اجتماعية من خلال العمل الخيري.

 

·    مؤسسة البحوث الوطنية: في يوم الجمعة 7 مارس، 2008  وقع معالي الشيخ نهيان بن مبارك آل نهيان، وزير التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي "آنذاك" ،مرسوما بإنشاء مؤسسة البحوث الوطنية ، ومؤسسة البحوث الوطنية هي إحدى مبادرات وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي لتعزيز النشاط البحثي في الجامعات والكليات والمراكز والمعاهد والشركات الخاصة والعامة، من قبل أفراد أو فرق من الباحثين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

 

·    المعهد الوطني للصحة: أفكار اليوم هي جذور اكتشافات الغد الطبية الرائدة. يعتمد تمويل الطلب على نظام صارم من قبل مراجعة الأقران.  إذ يقوم العلماء، والأطباء، والأفراد ذوي الخبرة في المجالات الطبية الحيوية الأخرى من جميع أنحاء العالم بتقييم حيوية البحوث المقترحة وقدرتها على تطوير العلوم.

 

·  مجلس البحوث الطبية: صلب مهمتنا هي تحسين صحة الإنسان من خلال البحوث الطبية على مستوى عالمي. ولتحقيق هذا الهدف، فإننا ندعم البحوث الطبية الحيوية من مختلف المجالات بدءاً من العلوم المختبرية إلى التجارب السريرية الأساسية، وفي جميع الحالات المرضية الرئيسية. ونحن نعمل بشكل وثيق مع النظام الصحي الوطني ومؤسسات الصحة في المملكة المتحدة لتقديم رسالتنا، وإعطاء أولوية عالية للأبحاث المرجح لها أن تحدث فرقا حقيقيا في الممارسات الطبية السريرية وصحة السكان.

 

  ·     مؤسسة تيري فوكس: ولد تيري فوكس في وينيبيغ، مانيتوبا، ونشأ في ميناء كوكويتلام، كولومبيا البريطانية، مجتمع قريبة من فانكوفر على الساحل الغربي لكندا. تيري شاب نشط شارك في العديد من الألعاب الرياضية، وكان تيري يبلغ 18 سنة من العمر عندما تم تشخيصه بأنه مصاب غرن عظمي المنشأ (سرطان العظام) واضطر لبتر ساقه اليمنى  حوالي 15 سم (ست بوصات) فوق الركبة في عام 1977. أثناء وجود  تيري  في المستشفى، تأثر كثيرا بمعاناة مرضى السرطان الأخرين، وكان كثير منهم أطفال ، فقرر ان يركض حول جميع أنحاء كندا سعياً لجمع الأموال لأبحاث السرطان.

 

·  صندوق تمويل مرحبا: وهو مؤسسة خيرية عالمية مكرسة لتحقيق تحسينات استثنائية في صحة الإنسان والحيوان. وتدعم هذه المؤسسة ذوي العقول النيرة  في مجال الأبحاث الطبية الحيوية والعلوم الإنسانية الطبية. ويتسع دعمهم ليتضمن إشراك عامة الناس، من خلال التعليم، واستخدامات البحوث لتحسين الصحة.

 

بحوث الطلبة

  ·    نعتقد أن البحوث قد أصبحت جزءا متزايد الأهمية من التطوير المهنى لطلاب الطب . وتقدم كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية، بالإضافة إلى أنها تمنح الفرص لمشاركة الطلاب في البحوث.  وفي المناهج الدراسية للمراحل الاولية تم تعريف الطلبة  بالاهتمامات البحثية لأعضاء هيئة التدريس و المجموعات البحثية ذات الاهتمام  الخاص . كما تم تعريفهم أيضا بتخطيط وتصميم المشاريع البحثية، وأخلاقيات البحث ، وتمويل مشاريع البحوث والإحصاء الحيوي .


وتشمل فرص البحوث اللامنهجية ملحقات المختبرات، والمشاريع البحثية الصيفية وبرنامج المنح الدراسية في المملكة المتحدة ومنحة الدكتور علي الموسوي للبحوث. ويتم تشجيع الطلاب للانضمام إلى مختبرات الأبحاث والمتابعة اللصيقة لمن يقومون باللأنشطة البحثية. ومن المؤمل أن تقود بعض هذه الملحقات  إلى التقديم في المؤتمرات والنشر فى المطبوعات العلمية  و المجلات الخاضعة للمراجعة العلمية.

يوفر برنامج المنح الدراسية في المملكة المتحدة للبحوث الفرص لطلاب مختارون لزيارة مختبرات الأبحاث في المملكة المتحدة خلال فصل الصيف. وعادة  يكون الطلاب ممن عمل في مختبرات كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية قبل زيارة مختبرات المملكة المتحدة لتعلم تقنيات جديدة و تطوير اهتماماتهم البحثية عموما.

كما يوفر برنامج المنح الدراسية للدكتور علي الموسوي أيضا فرصا لطلاب المرحلة الجامعية والدراسات العليا لزيارة مختبرات الأبحاث في المملكة المتحدة والمؤسسات الصحية.

 

 

 

Nov 2, 2014